I recently upgraded my SharePoint 2010 development environment to SharePoint 2013. I upgraded the branding and sent a link to some folks for review. They came back to me and reported the following error: Sorry, this list hasn’t been shared with you.

What?! If I can say one thing about SharePoint, it always comes up with new ways to keep me on my toes.

So I checked permissions and confirmed that all of the permissions from SharePoint 2010 came over just fine. They should have access to the site, but they don’t.

AD Synchronization

It turns out that my AD Synchronization settings got nuked, so although my SharePoint permissions were set, it wasn’t recognizing my AD accounts.  I noticed when I looked at permissions that there were GUIDS attached to the AD groups, which is never a good sign.

To determine this, I followed these steps:

1.  Log into Central Administration

2.  Under Application Manager, choose Manage service applications

3.  Select User Profile Service Application

The first thing I notice is that there is only one User profile.

profile.PNG

4.  Click on Configure Synchronization Connections

connect.PNG

5.  I had no connections and only one single user profile.

6.  Click Create New Connection

7.  Enter your AD information

8.  Press OK

You should now see a Synchronization Connection.

done.PNG

9.  Now go back and choose Start Profile Synchronization.

First Time Users

I did some research, and it turns out this is a common message with SharePoint 2013 for users who do not have access. First time access to a site collection has to be granted by the Site Collection Administrator using the Share feature.

Determining the Site Collection Administrator account

If you are not sure who the site collection administrator is, follow these steps:

1. Log into Central Administration.

2. Select Application Management.

3. Select Change site collection administrators.

4. Make sure you have the correct site collection selected.

Sharing your Site Collection

In order to share your site collection, follow these steps:

1. Log into the site collection as a site collection administrator and choose Share.

2. You may be prompted to authenticate.

3. Enter the specific names or email addresses of a set of people to invite (make sure they already have permissions) or you can enter Everyone (assuming everyone has access).

4. Or you can choose Show Options and choose a group or permission level to invite (which is safer in my opinion).

Advertisements